top of page

"An Artist's Perspective: A conversation with renowned Jacksonville artist Keith Doles." By Michael Beveridge



Jacksonville, FL Artist Keith Doles Standing Next to His Mural of a Sunflower, Named "Serenity"
Jacksonville, FL Artist Keith Doles Standing Next to His Mural, "Serenity"

Considering Keith’s soft tone, humble demeanor, and comforting smile, one would be in awe that he is the face behind many of the colorful murals peppered throughout the Jacksonville landscape... not to mention the adornment of many walls within respected businesses. His intellectual prowess mixed with his creative artistry proves to be a stimulating convergence of his brand. As an established figure in the cultural scene of Jacksonville, I felt compelled to discover Keith’s perspective regarding our theme of Healing Arts. I am fortunate to call Keith a friend, as well as an inspiration for so many others.


Mike: Where did you grow up? Was there a cultural presence that impacted you in a positive way?

Keith: I was born and raised in Jacksonville, Florida and spent most of my life living on the Northside. My parents introduced me to the arts when I was a young child by taking me to places like the Cummer Museum of Art and Gardens, Museum of Science and History and others in the city and elsewhere in the Southeast region of the country. We used to travel to South Florida to visit relatives during the holidays and would occasion art fairs in Miami. I met Thomas Blackshear at Eurasia Gallery when I was in high school. He was a figurative painter who made numerous portraits of African families and some were made into ceramic sculptures. My mom and aunt took me to meet him and had their sculptures autographed. That was probably the experience that made the idea of being a living, working artist a reality.


Mike: So you had quite a bit of exposure to the arts at an early age. What were your most impressionable moments growing up?

Keith: One of the field trips in elementary school I remember was a visit to a traveling Crayola tour bus where the students got to make crayons and produce encaustic drawings with them. The primary color crayons were put into a spinning vat to create our own set of crayons. I don’t remember what happened to my set, but my drawings were of the places we used to travel with my family.


Mike: You seem to be remarkably close to your family. Who were the most influential people in your life that have shaped your creativity?

Keith: My parents are at the top of the list. The art teachers I’ve had at Baldwin High School had an impact in developing what would eventually turn into a painting career. Audrey Campbell, my art teacher from 7th through 12th grade, introduced me to mixed media, graphite drawing, and ceramics. William Armstrong in 11th and 12th grade taught silkscreen printmaking and graphic design. The love for art increased during my college years studying fine art and graphic design at FSCJ and UNF respectively.


Mike: That’s great to have had so many influential players in your life. Being presented with such a wide array of interests, was there a defining moment in your life that sent you on your current path?

Keith: In early 2010, I submitted my art portfolio at MOCA Jacksonville Lab Gallery for a show in conjunction with the African American art exhibit on the 2nd floor. The work was a combination of abstract, portraiture, and landscape paintings. My work was accepted and I was paired with visual artist Princess Simpson Rashid for a Summer exhibition in the Museum Store. I made nearly 20 paintings inspired by the Downtown Jacksonville landscape during the economic recession at the time. The work was seen by many during the show’s run and led to solo exhibitions at the JAX Chamber in 2013, Haskell Gallery at Jacksonville International Airport in 2014, and FSCJ Kent and North Campus Galleries in 2015.


Mike: Wow... those are some extraordinary accomplishments. How would you describe your painting style and why did you choose it?

Keith: My painting style has influences from Synthetic Cubism and Abstract Expressionism. Both are relevant in my mixed media works that feature construction sites and landscapes as the symbolic subject matter. The collage in some of my works use construction paper, photographs, and words clipped out of magazines. Louise Freshman Brown, my fine arts professor at the University of North Florida, introduced me to the technique while I was working on my BFA degree. I went deeper into the medium in my figurative painting and graphic design courses with Paul Ladnier also at UNF.


Mike: You are well versed on the elements of your craft. What would you like your viewers to take away from your work?

Keith: I would hope viewers’ initial reaction triggers a memory from recognizing a shape or color from the layout. Craftsmanship on both the design and execution of the work are important as they show the difference between someone with a mastery of their technique versus an amateur or an artist’s work lacking an understanding of design elements and principles. My personal goal is to push an idea beyond a basic production to having a viewer expand their own knowledge of the subject.


Mike: That’s fascinating. Do your paintings have a general theme or message that you wish to convey?

Keith: My more recent works are about healing from personal trauma whether it’s overcoming an illness or dealing with the loss of a loved one. Abstraction can either show a broad view with my values and forms or limited versions. The construction site works I started three years ago touched on the depression I was dealing with after the death of my aunt who encouraged me to pursue art. The paintings were first exhibited in the Life Under Construction with Princess Simpson Rashid at Yellow House on King Street in 2017. Since that show, the abstract paintings have been added to the art collection at Community Hospice in Baptist Medical Center Downtown and a digital collection for Grand Image in Seattle, Washington.

Mike: So you truly are influential from coast to coast. Regarding the current culture of our country, what is your take on diversity in America and how do you feel we can come together as a nation?

Keith: I believe one side embraces diversity while the other appreciates the culture but not the people. We allowed ignorance to become mainstream. It will take love, education, and time for our nation to heal from this divisive period. When I studied Spanish years ago, my teacher said we had to immerse ourselves into the culture with the language, food, history, etc. to understand and appreciate the similarities and differences.


Mike: That is some profound insight. Better understanding and appreciation can lead to a more accepting environment. How do you feel we can make a difference as individuals and as a community?

Keith: Individuals can do several things to make a difference with issue(s) of priority. Education, getting people involved, invested in their community, and especially in local and state government. Mentoring young people is a huge opportunity if you want to see change and pass on your knowledge with guidance for them to lead in whatever goals they have.


Mike: Those are great points. How would you say the younger generation could exhibit and spread their expressions in a positive and influential manner?

Keith: Locally, I see the younger generation already expressing themselves through activism – peaceful protest against systemic racism, participating in elections, and using social media to share activity more broadly. I’ve had the pleasure of working with students who believe in climate change and are making the effort to use less gasoline, recycle, and adapt to eating less red meat. Other students chose to create visual art making commentary on changing systemic institutions especially in the state and federal government.


Mike: That’s great that you’re involved with the students and a sincere mentor to them I’m sure. Now let’s have a little fun. I’m going to say a word and I would like you to describe that word from your point of view in one, short sentence. Are you ready?

Keith: Sure, go for it!

Mike: Faith.

Keith: It is the belief that drives me to believe a situation can change for the better.

Mike: Happiness.

Keith: It’s a feeling of contentment in your environment.

Mike: Hope.

Keith: The same answer as faith.

Mike: Love.

Keith: An unconditional emotion and expression for life.

Mike: Laughter.

Keith: A reaction that can turn a negative feeling to a positive one.

Mike: Peace.

Keith: Living in a place where you... everyone... is accepted without prejudice or fear of your world crumbling around you.

Mike: Unity.

Keith: People from different backgrounds living and working for a reason beyond a personal agenda.


Mike: Those were thoughtful insights, Keith. Let’s wrap things up. If there were a production about your life... your legacy... how do you think that would play out?

Keith: I think a documentary with commentary from my family, mentors, and colleagues could tell an interesting story pieced from each perspective. My vision of the plot would tell how I went from an ignored, overlooked artist to my current form. The road would start in Jacksonville to South Florida and gradually back home in eight years. Finally, the end of the documentary would have reflections from my students and protégés where they carried on from their experience with me.


Mike: That sounds like a film in the making! Keith, it has been wonderful chatting with you today and we appreciate your point of view. Your work is an enhancement to the culture of our city and we greatly appreciate all that you do.

Keith: It has been my pleasure, Mike.



painted portrait of a young man of color by Jacksonville artist Keith Doles
A sample of portrait artwork by Keith Doles

Comments


bottom of page